Topic 7: Digital Blurring

wordle_ludoliteracy

 

EDUGAMING. MY NEW WORD.

I played some educational games to see what was available, and was very surprised. Dog breeding, so children get a grounding in genetics, and even a game in carpentry. There are abundant games in geography, maths and english.

Well now I know the obscure names of some capitals in Oceania, and I can breed a dog that is black, has long hair, and medium sized ears.

Here is my game. I am addicted already, and managed to win 4 times out of 30.

http://www.sploder.com/games/members/v1adrian/play/adrian/

I loved the TED talk, Gaming can make a better world (McGonigal, 2010). The speaker has solved a basic mystery for me. Why so many hours are spent gaming.  ‘Try again.’, ‘You are a hero!’, ‘You are a winner!’ I get it. I would want hours of positive reinforcement too.

I will look at gamers in a more positive light.

I learn by repetition, therefore going through an educational game, failing, resetting, and covering the same ground is absolute heaven for my retention. This was a ‘bring it on’ moment, teach me by games! I coined a new term – Edugaming. Alas, I googled, and found it exists as a company name, but the common usage verb will be mine. This is digital blurring at its finest and I will ‘edugame’ my students to EPIC WINS !

Thankyou.

Adrian Verrier

Reference:

McGonigal, J. (2010). Gaming can make a better world, TED Talk [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.ted.com/talks/jane_mcgonigal_gaming_can_make_a_better_world#

Image source:   http://blog.k12.com/sites/default/files/blog/pictures/pictures/wordle_ludoliteracy.png

 

Leave a Reply

